Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    What is it with people and listening only to marketing blah?

I work in the tech area of my company (I'm a senior network engineer). We often get "personal requests" for advice in purchasing a computer, phone, etc. Today someone came over asking about smart phones. She had a feature phone from AT&T and an iPod. Because of the iPod she was familiar with the iPhone and what it could do. She was wanting to see what all phones we had as we have a fairly large assortment in our department including my Pre, the Droid, a Touch Pro 2, and an EVO. She was really interested in the EVO for obvious reasons. When I tried to show her my Pre she said, rather loudly, I KNOW I don't want a Pre.

I was very taken aback by that comment and after she finished giving the Droid and Evo a once over, I politely asked her about her comment. She said tahr she didn't have anything against Palm OS but that she wanted something more modern. After explaining to her that the Pre is NOT Palm OS she still wasn't convinced. She said the following;

1) I want to "side load" apps.

I mentioned that while that is technically possible with the Android devices Google actively discourages it and that Palm actually actively encourages it. I showed her Preware and WOSQI and how easy it was to "side load" apps. Her answer was;

2) I want to be able to listen to music and browse at the same time. Palm OS can't do that.

I showed her Pandora running along side the browser. I even pulled up The Weather Channel app as well as a few others and showed her all of them running in card view. Her answer was;

3) I really want a physical keyboard.