Global Posts
    42 Global Posts
    I work as an Information Technology consultant and I am also a student. I have to stay current on varying technologies. In my personal life I hate to follow the crowd. That is why I have not hurded to the iPhone which I admit is a very nice phone; but I prefer the leading edge technologies and true innovation. Although it bites me sometimes, I do not have a problem with being a first adopter.

So, June 6, 2009, I was in line to get my Palm Pre. WebOS is awesome innovation to mobile operating systems. So, this year, I decided to keep my Palm Pre because I really dig WebOS. I was really excited about the HP buy of Palm; but recent news has been a little disconcerting. So, I decided to make the Pre my backup phone (as my Palm Treo 755p became when I got my Pre June 6, 2009). So, I upgraded my Treo to the HTC EVO 4G. So far, it has been a nice marriage of two technologies - WebOS and Android (w/HTC Sense).
    Recent news? I feel people should wait until the buy out goes through and HP/Palm will be allowed to speak freely on the future of Palm and smartphones. All we really have to go on right now is mostly rumors and speculation. The EVO is not going anywhere and the worst thing that can happen is you can get either it for less money or something better will be released.
    I have a moto droid in addition to my pre, but as it's turned out, the droid is the backup. A full featured shell, wireless charging, and Monopoly are worth more to me than what I consider the gimicky apps that you really never use but are impressive to demonstrate (google goggles comes to mind).

I liked the Incredible and the Evo - with the exception of Sense. Restricting the number of exchange calendars and drastically increasing time-to-market for updates can't begin to justify a marginally improved UI IMO.
    -Joshua
    I've decided to become enigmatic.