Global Posts
    77 Global Posts
    I've been a long time developer and user of Palm. I was on my way to IPhone and AT&T change when WebOS came out ... so, I gave 1 last try.

Listen, it has nice form factor (screen is too small), it has a solid keyboard (the sliding mechanism is more wobbly than comfortable), the battery life is atrocious, the screen responsiveness is slow, it lacks the promised video, the speaker is too quiet, software is limited ... and to add the killing touch, the initial developers want $5-$10 for half working fart apps. Palms developed billing has hindered me from entering my products, as I am a single guy with a few products.

I have wanted the webOS to be a raving success ... but my son downloaded "Guitar Hero" on his Itouch. The screen is large and crystal clear (looks like a video game on other platforms), responsiveness was quick and accurate, sound was loud from speaker ... it is honestly no contest. This is more than 3 years head start ... it is a superior OS and Hardware.

BTW, if you are satisfied with saying Apple just has a head start ... get ready for Google Android to hand you your *****.

I'll take some hits from this, but WebOS has disappointed me.
    Thoe I may not be able to agree 100%, the motarola droid seems very much like a better phone in its class. However I think palm is holding on by a thread with its WebOS. I feel the simplicity of design and use is what keeps me.

But palm has been very slow to continue its development, IE; no video, flash (not soooooo bad however), more open sdk (limiting app development).

Ye have little faith left.

Edit; heres one thing I can say with certain. App Development has slowed to a crawl.
    Last edited by Klownicle; 11/02/2009 at 06:42 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Klownicle View Post