Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1. nrs
    I'm afraid I'm going to catch hell for making this post, as others have, but I hope that this post is insightful and helpful to those that have pres and those that are interested in purchasing them. I canceled my AT&T contract, ported my numbers to Sprint, sold my iPhones, bought two new Palm Pre's and then returned them, canceled Sprint, and ported my numbers back to AT&T. My previous phone was an iPhone and a lot of the comparisons I make about the pre are to my iPhone - if you hate Apple or aren't open minded enough to realize a comparison could be made, please don't flame me for it.

Background:

I have been a user of AT&T Wireless for appx 11 years. Started out in the Chicago area with Cellular One which became Cingular which is now AT&T. I have worked in the industry in both a retail sales and technical training capacity though I now work in IT as a systems analyst. My primary phone was some version of Blackberry for the past 4 or so years (8700 > 8800 > 8310 > 8320) until I purchased an iPhone 3G this past January. I actually stood in line (ok, sat in a camping chair) outside (ok, inside the mall) at the local AT&T store on the day the original iPhone came out. I returned it in about 2 weeks for various reasons including poor alert notification options and poor email choices (imap push only supported on mac.com and yahoo accounts) and returned to using my Blackberry curve. I have tried Sprint once in the past, maybe about 6 or 7 years ago, this was when Sprints answer to SMS was a website that they would launch on the browser within the phone - not impressed more by the phone than anything else I returned it and just kept using Cingular.

Decision to move to Sprint: