1.    #1  
    I want to ask all you "wise" PDA people out there a question. I'm a high school student pondering about buying a new PDA. I've decided on the Sony Clie, and will buy it this week, BUT I have some doubts...

1. Is the Clie worth buying right now?
    (Would if someone comes out with MP3 capability on their new models....handspring or anyone else...they would use CF probably, or all types of media)

2. Is it worth it to buy memory sticks for the clie now?
    (A 64MB CF or SmartMedia card is $40! at frys...) The cheapest I can find a 64 MB memory stick is $70...128 MB is $160....I can find a 128 MB CF card for $100.

3. The clie is the first of its type...do you think it will "last" as in, be top dog for quite some time? or not...?

I'm not dissing the clie at all...I just want to make sure the clie is a worthy investment, its not exactly cheap for me...and that it will last me through this year, it needs to last me at least a year if not longer. Thanks in advance to everyone!

Nelson
    nelson.hsieh
    good artists copy, great artists steal. . .
    My brother-in-law just bought one, and it's pretty nice. Fancy looking, and if you're a Sony person...this is a must. My bro-in-law is very into Sony products.

We loaded some color pictures on it, and they don't look that nice because of the resolution. Although it's much better than my Visor Deluxe, the screen still has limitations.

We loaded some MP3s on it, and it worked fine. Installation was pretty easy too.

Personally, I want a PDA that could provide expandability for me. I'm using a wireless modem (it rocks!) for my VDX, so I couldn't switch to the Sony. I also like the different options I get with having a Visor...all the different modules, etc. Sony doesn't have that much in Memory Stick modules at this time. Also, MP3 player is cool, but I think I could get a full featured stand-alone player for a good price and still have a nice PDA.