1.    #1  
    I am thinking about upgrading my Visor Deluxe some time toward the end of the summer. I've been thinking about jumping ship to get an iPaq primarily because I am getting really tired of all the compatibility issues associated with Palm OS software and their Windows counterparts. I love Palm OS but the programs to do basic stuff like word processing and spreadsheets are still around the level of a Commodore 64 program -- both in terms of their sophistication and their compatibility with the actual Excel and Word programs on Windows. I am a college professor and something of a "power user" of Excel and Word in that context (making course materials, keeping track of grades, doing statistical analyses, etc.).

So one of the draws of PPC is that the versions of Excel and Word that these devices use are not third-party approximations of Excel and Word but actual shrunken versions of them, made by the same company, hence -- one would think at least -- a greater ability to use the programs like you normally would on a PC and more seamless integration with Windows on a PC. I've played around with an iPaq in Circuit City, and Pocket Word and Excel certainly felt natural enough (and Pocket Excel was WAY faster on the iPaq (forget which model) than Quicksheet on the Visor).

My question is whether this impression is correct or not. This is a pretty big issue for me so all input (pro- or anti-PPC) is welcome.
    BertBert
    Mark 12:28-31
    I also wanted to upgrade to the iPaq. I played around with Pocket Excel on a friend's iPaq and one thing that surprised me was that Pocket Excel has no built-in graphing. I couldn't believe this, so I searched the documentation and sure enough, no graphing capability.

I collect data every day, and a graphical representation of the data is a must for me.

The lack of this one feature has killed my upgrade path. For now, I'll stick with Quicksheet and Wordsmith on my Prism.