Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    So, I'm new to PDA phones but certainly not new to PDAs. I've owned almost all of 'em... from the first iPaq and the Jornadas to the Handspring devices to the Palm Pilots, IIIs, Vs, E series, T series, etc.

When I headed over to the Sprint store two or three weeks ago, the first phone I saw was the 700p. What a good looking device! Sure, it's chunkier than a normal Palm, but it's not morbidly obese and the color scheme is attractive. The high resolution screen is nice, and the data access speed was positively blazing from a person who is used to GPRS.

However, as a PDA nut I'm also aware of the Palm platform's limitations. For me, the most important are the lack of real multi-tasking and the continued trailing of Palm in device popularity. Now I know the Treo is by far the most popular PDA phone out there, but I'm worried that Palm is going to get bought out or something and everyone is going to stop developing for it, the software landscape is getting bleaker by the day anyways.

The PPC-6700 is an interesting device too, and certainly more setup for the person who wants to browse the web. Bigger keyboard, wider screen (although not as bright and vibrant)... but even though it's not technically a lot bigger, it feels like a friggin' brick in one's hands. This is NOT a sexy device.

However, the web rendering in IE is miles ahead of Blazer on the sites I visit, and the ever-widening field of software is tempting. Plus, there's multi-tasking.

So, what I'm asking you Treoites is: obviously, some of you are hardcore Palmophiles and would never choose anything else. I respect that! But as for the rest of you: surely a Pocket PC device was a choice at some point. Why did you choose the Treo, and what makes it a better device?