Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    6 Global Posts
    I am a real estate broker in Houston. I switched to my first “smartphone” device with my purchase of the Blackberry 7290 over a year ago. It had its strengths and weaknesses. Strengths include a fantastic email function (synching with Web client service is instantaneous; definitely a patent worth fighting for), nice QWERTY keyboard for the size, intelligent and relatively low profile holster, scroll wheel with push button select for one-handed navigation, Bluetooth capable, and simple USB synch to desktop. Weaknesses include horrible ‘web browser’ (part the fault of Blackberry, part the fault of Cingular I suppose), poor form factor as a handheld phone, no speakerphone, no memory card slot, poor handset volume, and average battery life.

I was intrigued by the Treo 650 as a possibly better real estate tool and hopefully just as good a phone. The Treo’s infrared function has Supra-compatible software for access real estate lockboxes for home showings. Plus the web feature was marketed as better than the GPRS-based Blackberry. So I picked up a 650 from Cingular online. And the disappointments began almost immediately.

1) First, this thing reboots on its own. Out of nowhere, the device goes blank, and next thing I know I’ve got Palm logos and reboot bars on the screen. Same for the radio. I’ll be minding my own business, and the phone chimes and says, “Goodbye,” and then may or may not say “Hello” to me again seconds later. Very strange. Is Cingular doing software or firmware upgrades three times a day? I read forums that said I may have corrupt software. So I did a native whatever reboot. No luck. Next I read it may be a missing rib on the SIM card holder. Strike two. Can’t figure it out. One Point to Blackberry.