webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  Open webOS General Discussion > Question: How do I get started on messing with Open WebOS
Question: How do I get started on messing with Open WebOS
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Herrie
  • 1 Post By MudShark22
  • 1 Post By Grabber5.0

Old 04/07/2014, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)

Hello everyone,

I am currently an electrical/mechanical engineer with decent programming knowledge. My experience is mostly based in FORTRAN (yes they still use it), Python, C, Assembly, and I have delved into CSS and HTML.

My problem is though I am somewhat versed in all of these languages due to classes in my undergraduate program, I have never been able to take things to the "next level." I would love to poke around in operating systems to see how they tick as well as look at design of GUI interfaces. Everything i've done so far is basic command line programs.

How would I go about poking around in webOS and figuring out how everything works. The intimidating part is seeing all of these odd named things in the github, I understand what they do in the end but thats about the extent of my knowledge (nyx, luna, etc.)

I would love to be able to figure out how everything works and increase my knowledge, any advice on how to start this? I have compiled open webos before just to see what it looks like and play around but thats as far as i've gotten

TL;DR: I want to learn more about OS's, what tools and resources should I use to figure out how it all works?

Last edited by Ultrashock; 04/07/2014 at 11:42 AM. Reason: added TL;DR
Ultrashock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/07/2014, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
pivotCE Developer

Hi,

Firstly, thanks for your interest and offer to help.

You are no doubt aware of this website if you have already compiled webOS.
WebOS-Ports

There is the list of contributors here and work that needs to be done.
Contributors - WebOS-Ports