webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  Open webOS General Discussion > WebOS contacts lost the postcodes
WebOS contacts lost the postcodes

Old 11/01/2013, 05:35 AM   #1 (permalink)

I have searched around on the forums but I can't find anything like this but I was hoping it is a common problem with a known solution.

I've been using WebOS since 2009 on my Pre and Pre3 and in all that time I have had my contacts syncing with Google Contacts and my PC outlook also syncing with Google.

Last week I got my first Android device (a Nexus 7) and, naturally set that up to sync with Google for my contacts. That all seemed to work fine but I have now noticed that the contacts on my Pre3 have all lost their Postcodes (last line or maybe 2 in some cases of the address).

The postcodes are still there when I look in outlook, directly at Google and on the Nexus 7 but are not there on the Pre3. If I add the postcode back on the Pre3 they seem to stick but I would rather not go through several thousand contacts and add the postcodes back.

Has anyone else seen anything similar and know a way to put things back?

Thanks.
andyhurley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/02/2013, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

I recently transferred all my Palm contacts to Google. It seems that some entries do not sync up. For example, some contacts that had multiple phone numbers would not display in the phone if they were _not_ formatted a certain way, like 12125551234 would only sync to the phone if in Google Contacts it was updated to 212-555-1234. I wish I had more of a scientific or methodological explanation for you. I am guessing that the formatting of contacts, and Calendar entries, for that matter, have slightly different formatting algorithms between the Palm Profile and Google. I was eyeballing my contacts, and cycling through them to get all phone numbers and some address within Google contacts formatted in a way that I know would sync to my phone.