webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  Open webOS General Discussion > Ima Newb with an OTR idea
Ima Newb with an OTR idea

Old 11/07/2012, 01:58 AM   #1 (permalink)

So i really want to be able to OTR message on webos. I am using a pre 3 to let you know.

This looks like a working OTR implementation deved in Javascript:

https://github.com/arlolra/otr

I'm a total newb but want to see something like this on WebOS and have the time to work on it.

But I need help from people who know what they are doing

Can this be implemented on WebOS?

Last edited by OldSkoolVWLover; 11/07/2012 at 04:34 PM. Reason: <fixed title>
schwasskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/07/2012, 04:49 AM   #2 (permalink)

Ok so i've done some more research and I want to start with GTALK and XMPP. These are the requirments:

The service is hosted at talk.google.com on port 5222
TLS is required
The preferred authentication mechanism is OAuth 2.0
SASL PLAIN is supported for legacy clients

Also been looking at the code from the link in my first post and this is some code I thought would be useful thus far:

<script src="http://crypto-js.googlecode.com/svn/tags/3.0.2/build/rollups/aes.js"></script>
<script>
var encrypted = CryptoJS.AES.encrypt("hey", "Secret Passphrase");

var decrypted = CryptoJS.AES.decrypt(encrypted, "Secret Passphrase");

alert(decrypted.toString(CryptoJS.enc.Latin1));

</script>

This will encrypt the "message" with "secret passphrase" as the key and then decrypt it in the same fashion.
Old 11/07/2012, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)

Been working on sending IM's and I thought I would start from the CLI
The following ran from novaterm opens the app with the fields filled out on my Pre3 but the I get an error

"Unable To Send
You are attempting to send to an IM type for which you do not have an account to send from"

Code: