webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  Open webOS General Discussion > Open source and using a device with Sprint?
Open source and using a device with Sprint?
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Derek Kessler

Old 01/31/2012, 10:34 AM   #1 (permalink)

So lets say the open source completes and were able to install it on other devices. How would one go about making it work on Sprint since they will only activate their own devices? Would we active the phone oem, then install Open webOS so the internals are activated on Sprint...seems it will be a bit tricky to me.

Wishful thinking is Samsung or HTC picks up Open webOS and releases ready to go devices I guess
ryancell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/31/2012, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)

I'm sure something will be done with using meta doctors and stuff that will use code from the sprint pre to trick the system making it think its a pre-. But I am not a coder so I'm just guessing
Greg Mair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/02/2012, 03:20 AM   #3 (permalink)

i posed this question too but didn't get an answer. I'm curious still. I'd think it would be easy if it was installed on a working sprint phone but if carriers won't allow outside phones it seems like it would be hard to just develop outside hardware, put webos on it and run it on carriers.
Old 02/03/2012, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)

Considering that i've never gotten an answer to this question i'm beginning to think it is the giant pink elephant in the room that people are ignoring. I'm beginning to think that no carrier in the U.S. except maybe T-mobile is gonna allow some no name grass roots device on it's network. That means people can make all the plans they want to buy parts and build their own webos device but they won't have anywhere to run it unless the networks allow it. maybe. And at the moment it seems like that's not gonna be AT&T, Sprint, or Verizon.
Old 02/03/2012, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)