webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  Open webOS General Discussion > Who wants to makes money with Open Source?
Who wants to makes money with Open Source?
Like Tree18Likes

Old 01/31/2012, 08:37 AM   #1 (permalink)

I work in IT, but I know my limits and have no intention on learning how to deal with this code. Therefore, when the official open source version is released, do you think people will be making money off of installing WebOS onto phones for people?

I personally would pay someone to do it for me on a specific phone if i can't buy it with WebOS already on it.

I hope i'm not repeating any other threads...

Thanks,
-Rich
richiemoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/31/2012, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)

Just because webos is open source, doesn't mean you can do much with it.

By the time webos is open source, all the new smartphones will have LTE chipsets (which you don't have the radio codes and they are always under proprietary license), will have new GPU (which you don't have the driver codes and they are always under proprietary license)...
samab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/31/2012, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)

Closed/proprietary license doesn't necessarily mean undistributable. Several GPUs have closed source licenses on their drivers but the binary driver can be freely redistributed. I suspect that the ODMs have at least binary Linux drivers for all their major product families given the number of Linux-y phones, routers, gateways, and appliances.

The problems come when the kernel changes and is no longer compatible with the driver and the public can't recompile it. That essentially means no more kernel upgrades for that phone. That's irritating but every device hits a point of obsolescence.