webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  Open webOS General Discussion > What about Kodak?
What about Kodak?

Old 01/06/2012, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)

As a long time photographer, I am following the Chapter 11 filing by once film / camera giant Kodak. Long shot, Kodak making phones? They now could have something no one else does, an open source WebOS.

-- Sent from my TouchPad using Communities
etphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/06/2012, 04:16 PM   #2 (permalink)

People still buy DSLRs
Lumia 830 > 635 > iPhone 5s > Galaxy Alpha > Lumia 640 >
iPhone 5c > Nexus 5
My Palm OS Archive
xandros9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/06/2012, 05:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

Obviously, Kodak needs to change direction if it wishes to survive. It can down size and stick with supplying the few film shooters that still exist and continue on with making cameras. Or, it can change direction and do something else. I doubt it'll choose to enter the already crowded cell phone business, but, like I said, the have to do something. They already make digital devices and they have the name recognition. WebOS needs a new home (shrug). . .

Old 01/08/2012, 10:36 AM   #4 (permalink)

The process has to be from the top down. I expected this outcome 10 years ago when they didn't change direction. You can't continue to do the same thing and expect a different outcome.

As a top contributor to the HP Consumer Support Forums, HP provides me access to the Tochpad at no charge so I may better respond to the questions raised on the Forum.
old_geekster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/08/2012, 11:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
cgk

Kodak has run itself into the ground - why does this indicate any sort of competency in the highly competitive mobile sector?

Quote:
They now could have something no one else does, an open source WebOS.