webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Discussion >  Open webOS General Discussion > Do you think that #openSourceWebOS will #saveWebOS?
Do you think that #openSourceWebOS will #saveWebOS?
Like Tree7Likes

Old 12/12/2011, 10:42 AM   #1 (permalink)

Do you think that #openSourceWebOS will #saveWebOS?
hpsalesguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 10:43 AM   #2 (permalink)

https://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23openSourceWebOS
Old 12/12/2011, 11:04 AM   #3 (permalink)

#OpenSourceWebOS will not #killWebOS, and that's a start. #NextFewMonths will determine if #webOSLives, or becomes a #geeksToy
Old 12/12/2011, 11:11 AM   #4 (permalink)

It depends if it manage to grab attention of people behind Linux, webkit &webkit2 development and skilled software engenders in general.
Old 12/12/2011, 11:39 AM   #5 (permalink)

at the very least RIM is ****ting their pants over the billions they invested in QNX
rmausser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 11:42 AM   #6 (permalink)

I'm no expert but I'm owning towards no. I don't see why anyone would use anything thats already out there and better established.
Even with having to power Microsoft, those who used Android are still posting all these quarterly profits. No company is going to stray away from something they're used to (Android) and more importantly, profits.
Dazo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/12/2011, 12:00 PM   #7 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazo View Post
I'm no expert but I'm owning towards no. I don't see why anyone would use anything thats already out there and better established.
Even with having to power Microsoft, those who used Android are still posting all these quarterly profits. No company is going to stray away from something they're used to (Android) and more importantly, profits.
Samsung and HTC seem to have some space left for risk. Take Samsung as example - currently they have about 90 devices based on Android, all still aviable Phone Finder results - GSMArena.com