Global Posts
    974 Global Posts
    I'm a longtime PC geek who's thinking about building a new box and putting Linux on it. I've never messed with Linux before, and am just looking for a little advice. First, what version or "distribution" of Linux would y'all recommend? I assume that most versions are not free??

Also, I'm assuming most versions are compatible with Intel/AMD hardware?

Any tips or advice for a total newb to Linux would be greatly appreciated. I've also been doing research online and reading FAQ's, but it's always helpful to hear firsthand info from others. thnx!
    most versions ARE free... and most are compatible w/ AMD and Intel hardware. I have played around with suse, yellowdog, and redhat. My desktop has been running Fedora (redhat) for the last month+ w/out any troubles.

My 600 syncs with evolution and I can mount my SD card as a USB mass storage device.
    Avatars.... <hrumpphh> I guess, since all the cool kids are doing it.
    When you pay for linux, you're not actually paying for the software. You're paying for the distribution materials and the manuals. All distributions of linux are freely available for download. I've used both SuSE and Redhat, but not as my desktop. I used them both as my router for my home network. Both work well, and take a lot of the guesswork out without compromising the power of linux because you can always just launch a shell and do it that way as well.

c
    I have tried various "flavors" or distributions of Linux, and I think the best one to start off, as a new user, is Linspire (formerly called Lindows.) You can get deteails on their website at www.linspire.com, and you can get trial disks as well very cheaply by doing a search on EBay - I paid just $4.99 for my set of disks, I have since installed Linspire on my laptop and on my desktop, and signed up for their annual software download service.
    (This is written on my Linspire laptop right now,)