Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I just felt the need to start a thread about pda users who are students. I am a sophmore Computer Engineer at Bucknell University (Pennsylvania, US) and i have been in the pda word for i suppose about 2 years now.

Realistically my saga began in middle school when I got my first day planner for classes and such. That lasted me about 3 weeks. I never used a paper organizer seriously from then on.

I started with one of those very thin fold out things with the full chiclet keyboard and only like a 3 row screen. It was very crappy, was less effective than a folded piece of paper in my wallet, and had no useful time management capabilities.

After a few weeks I realized this, and entered all the data back into MS outlook and used it's print capabilities to print out a little phone book. 1 millimeter thick and the size of a creditcard made it a obvious improvement from my unhotsync-able organizer. But christmas came,a nd my dad decided to purchase himself and my sister a Windows CE 1.0 Philips Velo. Blown away by how geeky it was and how cool it would be to have a real organizer i found myself a used Velo 500. I used it for about 2 months, but realized i couldn't carry it around, and it was demoted form organizer to cheapo laptop to take notes on and write c++ code on during class. It did this very well.

Nonetheless, I did some more reasearch and found palm pilots were supposedly superior as a pure organizer. I was interested but my money stayed in my wallet. Then, I realized the product i wanted, a Palm Pilot case AND wallet in one package. I would be forced to be organized if i carried my organizer everywhere. A company called EB Cases made a sexy leather wallet that fit my needs perfectly. [link]http://www.ebcases.com[/link] I bought the Slipper III, and a Palm III immediately. I was hooked. I had a killer organizer, and a superb case.