• 2 Post By Mutoidi
  • 3 Post By xandros9
  • 1 Post By TJs11thPre
  • 1 Post By jccjmml7
  • 1 Post By Grabber5.0
  • 1 Post By Grabber5.0
  1.    #1  
    Hi all,

I've been a webOS fan since it became available. I'm not a developer, but I'm fanatical enough to build and maintain a FrankenPre2, which I'm proud of myself for doing successfully.

One of my other passions is air-cooled VWs. I worked for VW over 20 years ago, and have built a few nice collectibles. This year, i found a "diamond in the rough" which had been garaged by the original owner's family, until they decided to sell it to pay for their new kitchen remodel! Heh!

This is a 1973 Super Beetle Convertible with 85000 miles on the odometer. Now, VWs of this age will "roll over" at 100k, back to 0. But they gave me a stack of service records for everything ever done, and the mileage corresponds to dates through the years in an appropriate sequence. So the mileage is documented, which is a rare occurrence.

I disassembled the car, and sent it out for fresh paint. The color is Olympic Blue, which has a nice, bold brightness to it, like a sunny blue sky. Then i began restoring or replacing every piece as needed. Some things i could recondition, like the original carpet. It looks great. Other things needed more help, like the sun cracked dashboard, which i recovered with a new top. I went through every system. Now, everything works and looks as it should.

When i redo a VW, i also like to modernize it a bit, for a fresher driving experience. I want these cars driven, not stored like an old coin. So i put on nice new tires and wheels, all lights get new bulbs, a clear new windshield, and a decent stereo that actually pairs to your Bluetooth. Of course, a power outlet had to be added to charge a phone!

73 VW For Sale - Album on Imgur