Global Posts
    396 Global Posts
    okay as some know I have had a horrible last week or two and one of them things is my comp crashed on me saturday night. I really believe it is a virus that isn't letting me boot properly. Anyway I learned of liveCD booting through linux. Well I have successfully got knoppix running as well as I believe it's called bitdefender. Problem is I have know idea about linux and how to install anything. I know there is clamav as well as t-prof I think and there is one that starts with a k. I just can't get knoppix to start clamav and bitdefender has it's own boot and I can't get a scan that feels right. I can only scan one folder at a time and I never get anything. I just wish I have malwarebytes or spybot but obviously I can't. Anyone who has experience with this please help me out I'm a college student and absolutely need my computer up and running. There is also a possibility of fixing with and xp boot disk but I don't have one and don't know where to get one or download one. Also there is a liveCD boot for windows that I would love then I could use the antivirus programs I'm used to. If you have experience in either it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks you.
    The first thing you should do is backing up your data e.g. on external disk/usb-drive.
    A friend of mine has sometimes the same problem and a chkdsk repairs it.
    Your problem may be something else, but I would try running a check disk on the start disc.
    I have a XP and a Vita BartPE life CD. if i find the time a probably can upload it somewhere later.

Edit: How is your kid?
    Global Posts
    396 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by somline View Post
    The first thing you should do is backing up your data e.g. on external disk/usb-drive.
    A friend of mine has sometimes the same problem and a chkdsk repairs it.
    Your problem may be something else, but I would try running a check disk on the start disc.