1.    #1  
    I'm an IT guy by trade and often get asked tech advice questions by friends and family that I don't always know or can find the answer to. A friend has recently asked me about eReaders and comparing the Kindle with Nook. I can easily find the specs and make a hardware comparison, but the question at hand is how much does pricing vary between the "pay for" books on the two platforms?

I understand that both platforms have their "free" collections, but for a new release, are they comparable? My friend is heavily leaning towards the Nook, which makes a lot of sense, color screen, can do some gaming, has expansion card slot... but does it allow for highlighting sections or leaving notes in the margins, etc... I read something a while ago how the Kindle had an issue with automatically deleting books from people's devices and losing any notes and markups that the person made as well.

All of the searches that I've found so far have been commercial type comparisons that haven't gone into the price per book or user experience, so any advice would be appreciated.
    Global Posts
    739 Global Posts
    Just a thought. Why lock in to one over the other if they are both releasing versions of their apps for other platforms? Things are heating up in this market, and some major players are jumping in. Additionally, as competition heats up along with the market, eBook pricing will fluxuate as well.

I'd consider the most open ended option, and avoid proprietary platforms. For me, both the Nook and the Kindle in their current forms are already obsolete.
    The Law of Logical Argument: Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
    Global Posts
    739 Global Posts
    The Law of Logical Argument: Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
  4.    #4