1.    #1  
    I am wanting to learn to code, but was wondering what would be the best language to begin learning?

I have NEVER tried coding before, but want to get started. Any ideas from anyone in the know?

Thanks.
    Hey,

The program pocketc is great! It is very basic and you can try it out for 30 days at http://www.orbworks.com/PalmOS/ . There is also a book that goes with it that you can order online or go to a bookstore and they can get it for you. The book is called Palm Programming for the Absolute Beginner the book is here http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...bosnation0e-20 I think that the program is great! You can compile right on the palm and it's inexpensive. The book is real good, teaching you how to program by programming games. I have been programming on and off with PocketC for awhile. It's cool...

Cheers
  3.    #3  
    Thanks for the tip, but I guess I should have been more specific. I am wanting to code for the PC not the Palm OS...sorry, I figured since it was "off Topic" it would be obvious.

Anyway, now that I have been more clear, do you have any ideas? Do you have any exprience with Python? A lot of sites I have seen say it's one of the easier to learn.

Thanks again!
    Originally posted by DingoFish
    Anyway, now that I have been more clear, do you have any ideas? Do you have any exprience with Python? A lot of sites I have seen say it's one of the easier to learn.
    I was just about to recommend Python. It's a very good starting point, because:
    • Simple, concise, powerful language that can be used to demonstrate just about any programming situation.
    • You can jump right into it. Windows version (the ActiveState one at least) are free, and easy to install. And you can write simple programs immediately and see the results.