Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I currently have the HDDVD add on player for the Xbox 360.

Ive had the Panasonic BD60 in my Amazon cart for months.

The HDDVD's look nice enough, but none of them, not even King Kong, seem to really "wow" and give me that uncomfortable feeling of watching something "too real" like I often see on the Blu Ray demos at Best Buy.

Is it an HDDVD vs. BluRay difference?

The SACD capability would be nice, for sure.

It's "only" a hundred dollars or so, but for whatever reason, I still haven't pulled the rope.

Convince me.

p.s. Ive been buying Blu Ray movies sporadically as I come across deals.
    I assume HDDVD and Blu-Ray are both capable of outputting at 1080p and using the same codec, so really it's more to do with your television and the fact that I doubt there will be any new HDDVD releases.

I'm not an expert though so correct me if I'm wrong
  3.    #3  
    yeah, i dunno about the technical differences.

i know HDDVD is dead. i have a dozen or so discs that i picked up on the cheap and none of them are anything fantastic.

they look the same on the 50" plasma and the 32" LCD, so i dunno.
    How big is your HDTV, 720p or 1080p? Edit, i guess 50" and 32" is what you have.

If you have a TV smaller than 32", then id say no, although some even say 32" is too small to really see the difference. I personally have a 32" plasma paired up with a PS3, and i can see the difference. My brother just bought a 58" plasma, and the detail is really noticeable. so screen size and resolution matter a little.