1.    #1  
    I just got a new computer with a 3Com 10/100 Ethernet card. I'm new to Ethernet, been stuck with "phoneline networking" and need to know something:

I have another computer that needs an ethernet card. Does it matter whether I get a really cheap one, or does it pay to get a more expensive one? Any suggestions on good ones? Thanks.
    -Bernie

"One word sums up probably the responsibility of any vice president, and that one word is 'to be prepared'.
    -Dan Quayle
    As long as you use a "name brand" card you should be ok. I've used 3Com, Linksys, and Netlink cards and all have worked well. The one and only "generic" card I tried was nothing but trouble.

At work, we use 3Com exclusively. Here at home, everything is Linksys, which is typically less expensive than 3Com.
    MarkEagle
    .....<a href="http://discussion.treocentral.com/tcforum/index.php?s=">TreoCentral</a> | <a href="http://discussion.visorcentral.com/vcforum/index.php?s=">VisorCentral</a> Forum Moderator - Forum Guidelines
    .....Sprint PCS Treo 650
    .....God bless America, my home sweet home...
    I think I paid $10.00 at BestBuy for my PCI EtherNet card. So far, it has been fine.

I paid $79.99 for my 4Port LinkSYS Router/Switch and it has been awesome. I love this thing and highly recommend it.

With my current setup, I have two PC's constantly connected. One runs WIN95 and one runs WIN98. I also connect my work ThinkPad up. It has WIN2000 and built-in EtherNet.

So far, everything has ran without a hitch.
    In my Father's house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. JOHN 14:2
    Originally posted by GSR13
    I think I paid $10.00 at BestBuy for my PCI EtherNet card. So far, it has been fine.

I paid $79.99 for my 4Port LinkSYS Router/Switch and it has been awesome. I love this thing and highly recommend it.