1.    #1  
    I heard one of my coworkers today state that he was probably not going to vote because he would have to wait in line for possibly 1-2 hours. He also said that if he was waiting in line for 20 minutes, then he was willing to do that. This bothered me deeply.

The night before the first Iraqi election, as a Marine Helicopter pilot, I was tasked with transporting election workers and ballots all across the Al Anbar province because it was too dangerous for them to travel via roads. I ended up flying for 8 hours that night, moving election workers and ballots until the wee hours of the morning. These election workers had their lives threatened, and when one of the election workers got on board my helicopter he was very animated and was trying to communicate to my crewchief. At first I thought he was so animated because his life had been threatened, or because it was the first time he had ever flown on a helicopter, or even perhaps because it was 3 am and he was tired. When he finally was able to break the language barrier with my crewchief, he wanted to know where the ballots were. He was more concerned about the ballots than his own life.

The next morning, I listened on my shortwave radio as Iraqis waited in line for hours, their lives threatened as well, with indirect fire attacks on a number of polling places, so they had an opportunity to vote. I'm sure everyone here has seen the pictures of Iraqis with their ink-stained fingers, beaming with ear-to-ear smiles because they were finally given the opportunity to vote.