1.    #1  
    I know there have to be some mac users out there so maybe someone can help me. I just got a new job and the new office is Mac-only. The computer I was given is an old-ish G3. The problem is that it is a pre-USB computer and I have a very nice 5-button USB mouse that I'd really like to use.

Is there any sort of adapter made for this purpose? What's it called? Who makes it? I think if I sourced the thing myself I would have a much better chance of getting one. After all, The only person that my 1-button mouse is bothering is me.

Thanks,
    Mike.
    MacSense offers a PCI plug-in card that will give your Mac 2 USB slots ..

http://www.shipitforyou.com/cgi-bin/...60+1117&FNM=85

I have no previous experience with this card (or any USB add-in cards)so you may want to do some research before purchasing.

Joe
    Is this an old beige G3? If so, I'd try to get a new machine ;o)

You can get a USB card, or you should be able to find a USB-MacSerial adapter out there as well. Check macwarehouse.com.
    We're all naked if you turn us inside out.
    -David Byrne
  4.    #4  
    Originally posted by homer
    Is this an old beige G3?
    Afraid so.

you should be able to find a USB-MacSerial adapter out there as well.
    I've seen adapters that plug into USB ports and allow Mac-Serial devices to be plugged in. I need the opposite. does that exist? That would be easier than a PCI card.
    Originally posted by mnartker

I've seen adapters that plug into USB ports and allow Mac-Serial devices to be plugged in. I need the opposite. does that exist? That would be easier than a PCI card.
    Sorry, nothing like that is available. You will need to go with the PCI card, they can be had for as little as $21 at http://www.macconnection.com. You can install it in less than 5 minutes and depending on which version of th OS you are running you may not even need to add any software.
  6.    #6  
    Thanks for the info. Just ordered a PCI card today.

Just an update: