1.    #1  
    Hi folks,

Maybe you guys can give me some advice. I have had DSL since mid April, (I won't torture you about the time before April)and I've had a million problems, like today if I could connect, and the phone rings it throws me off of DSL. But most of the time the ready light is blinking.
    My ready light on the modem is NOT blinking at this time but I still can't connect. It gives me the error message, " Time out while trying to connect to server."
    At this time I'm still able to use my analog modem with the MSN I never had turned off just in case, cause of the DSL problems.
    I am not technical, so please, be kind. Oh, yea before ya ask, I have a running log I keep when I talk to tech support. They always say I'm out of sync and they will write up a trouble ticket and get back in 48 to 72 hours. They actually called once.

I Must Be Online!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's sad but that's my life.

Thanx in advance
    I have DSL, and may be able to help. So, I offer some things to try or think about.
    I don't know if every DSL service is the same setup; I have Verizon (in NY), and they have a connection utility program I have to run in order to connect.

1) first and foremost: double-check that the IP address and Ethernet setups are correct.

2) I've had intermittant service "cut-outs" where the connection drops without any indication that it did so. The quick-n-dirty solution is to disconnect/reconnect with the connection software.

3) you're in California; could the rolling blackouts be affecting it? (Pardon my ignorance, I don't even know if that's still going on; news on that subject stopped around the time the McVie thing started up again)

4) I've also had the ready light flash in the middle of a session, but most of the time it doesn't kill my connection. If I stop trying to do things for a couple minutes, until the light is steady again, I'm fine.