Page 1 of 7 123456 ... LastLast
  1.    #1  
    As most probably know by now, I am neither a Hillary nor an Obama fan, but the idea that Michigan and Florida votes aren't being counted is extremely worrisome. Is this really how our democracy works?! whoa.

From what I gather, since these primaries were held earlier than party rules allowed, the votes aren't counted. Is this the whole story for both states?

In any case, these votes ABSOLUTELY should be counted. Again, I'm by no means a Hillary proponent, but it is offensive to me that because of some absurd party rules, democracy is seriously crippled into a shell if itself like this.

If people thought the Bush/ Gore decision was unjust, why aren't they storming the streets, up in arms about THIS insult to our democracy?

Obama, while he IS in the lead, could be accused of crooked election scams as George Bush was after he was awarded the presidency following recount controversies.

I don't understand this. Democrats clamored like hell to make sure votes were recounted for Gore, why are they not doing this for Hillary?

. I must be missing something, because this simply doesn't seem right in even the slightest sense. This is America?

Unreal.
    We are largely in agreement.

Its incomprehensible to me that the dems punished voters for the sins of officials.

If those officials knowingly took or supported actions that violated rules from headquarters, rules that headquarters wanted to discourage others from violating -- they should have punished liable officials. (banning them from the convention, denying them national party suppport in their election, etc.)

Or even as the GOP did, cutting their delegations in half.

What's even worse is that the plan to move up the primary was largely the product of FL GOP machinations

(btw, Hobbes, Shopharim, and I discussed this some weeks/months ago) --
    Last edited by BARYE; 05/22/2008 at 12:48 AM.
    755P Sprint SERO (upgraded from unlocked GSM 650 on T-Mobile)