1.    #1  
    My son is interested in taking martial arts classes. Do you know the differences, benefits, disadvantages of the various martial arts when compared to each other...i.e. tae kwon do, vs kung fu, vs karate vs ect.....

Any insight, experience, or resource is greatly appreciated.
    Tae kwon do is Korean, Karate is Japanese, and Kung Fu is Chinese. I'm not very familiar with Kung Fu, but I understand it's an umbrella term for a variety of styles of fighting. The cool/funny poses from the movies are generally some form of Kung Fu.

TKD and Karate are similar; they use a mix of punching and kicking techniques, but TKD has more emphasis on kicking and spinning than Karate. In TKD, there's no punching to the head. When I studied TKD as a kid, many TKD schools used the word Karate, since no one really knew what TKD was. TKD is an official Olympic sport; Karate is trying to get recognized at the Olympics.

There's also judo, a Japanese sport, which is similar to wrestling. Judo is best known for its flips and joint locks.
    Last edited by samkim; 10/25/2006 at 05:59 PM.
    Global Posts
    538 Global Posts
    Some of my favs:

ju jitsu, is japanese, focuses on pressure points and throwing(using opponents energy against them).

Also jeet kun do is bruce lee's form...
    --------------------------------------------------------------
    noodlelest wet noodler
    How old is your son, Hobbes? I have an 8 year old and I've kinda wondered whether this would be good for him.
    There is also Aikido. I used to take instruction as a child growing up in Hawaii. I have always wanted to pursue it further as an adult, but am unable to locate a respectable aikido dojo here in Virginia Beach.
    CGordonn
    SPCS Treo 700p
    Virginia Beach, VA but home will
    always be Honolulu, HI
  6.    #6