1.    #1  
    I am a high school student and want to learn computer programming. However, my school decided to stop offering the class in favor of classes such as Internet and Basic Computer Applications (probably since 3/4 of the people who took computer programming failed it before the year was over). Can anyone recommend a good book so I can learn it on my own?
    Global Posts
    92 Global Posts
    Try one of the "Teach Yourself _ In 21 Days" books, I forget the publisher(SAMS I think), but there are versions in many languages. They usually come with a semi crippled version of the language on CD that you can use to learn and do lots of other things with, but not compile. You can probably go to your local public library and get a full version of the program. I'd suggest something like a recent version of Visual Basic, it'll be useful to you, give you the basics you'll need for any language, but without needless complexities (at this point) of something like one of the versions of C.
    -Michael-
    I am also in the boat of teaching myself computer programming, and I have had a very good experience so far with learning Java. It is a very simple and robust language, easy enough to get going on and yet powerful enough to let you do some pretty neat things. Also, it's an object-oriented language, which seems to be the direction most languages are headed these days. And as a bonus, all the development tools are completely free from Sun's web site (download the Java 2 IDE).