1.    #1  
    I use ATT-WS. I am in India on business, and my Treo600 is recieving calls and I can call back to the U.S. fine. Even the GPRS is working and I can surf the web and check email etc... However, I can NOT call to other countries (execpt the U.S.) from India. I thought ATT-WS had not activated my service properly, but when I asked them, they said, that their India Service Provider Roaming partners do not allow calling to third countries. I tried 4 differrent local provider and got excellent signals from all, but none allow my to call to third countries - I can only make local calls and calls back to the U.S. I have been in Mumbai (Bombay) and Bangalore with the same results.

I travel frequently to many countries in Europe and Asia and have never experienced this. My previous GSM phone plan (from ATT-WS) did allow me to make calls to other countries from all other countries. However, this is my first time to India.

Has anyone else had this experience in India?
    Hmm...that's wierd. As an immediate and temporary solution, I recommend you buy a cheap prepaid sim over there to make international calls. Good luck...

Current device: Palm Pre
    Device graveyard: Palm Vx, Cassiopeia E100, LG Phenom HPC, Palm M515, Treo 300, Treo 600, Treo 650, Treo 700p, Axim X50v, Treo 800w

Please don't PM me about my avatar. For more info go here.

Restore your Pre to factory settings using webos doctor and follow these instructions
  3.    #3  
    after more experience in Mumbia and Bangalore with their local service providers I can report the following update

Mumbia - AirTel Mumbia works very well. I can make calls to third countries and also GPRS works! Not sure why the ATT help desk said this was not possible, since it does work. BPL also works to make calls to third countries, but GPRS does not work on BPL.

Orange and MTNL do not allow making calls to third countries, but interestingly enough GPRS does work.