Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I'm a Palm newbie, coming from over four years as a Hiptop/Sidekick fan. Only the shutdown of the needed Danger back-end service is causing me to switch to something else. webOS has always been elegant and attractive but I've never been convinced, so I decided to try living with it.

I refuse to go the contract route because I don't use much voice time. AT&T GoPhone prepaid seems to be ideal for me. I tend to use 100-200 minutes/month (a few phone calls every day), so 10/min is fine. Data usage is mainly plain-text email and moderate and often mobile-optimized Web. I doubt I would use more than 500 MB/month outside of Wi-Fi.

There seems to be no option on AT&T Web site for a standalone GoPhone SIM card and the $6 SIM card seems to be for postpaid service only. So I figured I would order the cheapest GoPhone package with a 10/min plan. Once I receive it, I will add a data feature package. Therefore I will have an active AT&T SIM card with both voice and data.

I was thinking about the unlocked Pre 2 but balked at the price and the fact that Pre 3 is looming. Then I saw the Pixi Plus on Amazon without service -- perfect. This is carrier-locked for AT&T and GoPhone is AT&T, so won't the GoPhone SIM work in this case? And since the SIM already has data added, won't the initial phone activation with Palm work?

I've been reading these forums for hours and have gotten alotta useful info but it's still not clear if I'm doing it right. Would the SIM be tied to the original phone? To prevent people like me from doing what I'd like to do?

Of course, I will soon find out myself if this works but it'll be a few more days before I get product in hand and I'm dying to know. Thanks.
    Global Posts
    816 Global Posts