1.    #1  
    Hi I'm a newbie 270 owner in the UK and thought that I'd do the 1.1 ugrade before entering much stuff.

When I installed the HS CD onto my PC at home I only installed the palm desktop, and did not go ahead and set up e-mail & browsing stuff.

Then upgraded to 1.1 last night, seemed to go well. At one point the PC said press next to proceed with the upgrade AND the Treo said press here to install upgrade. So I hit the Treo's reply. It then went ahead and installed the ROM upgrade.

However I now go back to the desk top on the PC and try to finish the comms install for Treo and am having problems.

There are 5 steps if I remember correctly.

1. Make sure that SIM card is in
    2. Make sure that you are live on the network -
    3. Reading sim card for service providers info
    4. Wait 2 mins for the sim card to be read
    5. So a sync to save data

I follow these carefully and after pressing next I immediatly get 2 windows opening, the top one is an error message saying that the SIM card can not be read, underneath is a long window saying "please wait whilst service provider information is read from the phone."

I can read info from the sim card from the Treo fine and copy names and numbers to the speed dials. Also my phone on Treo is working fine. EVAN THE HEADSET BUG IS FIXED !!

Any ideas please

thanks
  2.    #2  
    chatting to Vodafone GPRS help desk got me on line.

now have to get e-mail configured.
    I've exactly the same problem you described. Please, can you say the sollution Vodafone help desk give to you?
  4.    #4  
    Hi, I have not yet got any further with the part two of the Handspring install, It will still not read my sim card.

However once Vodafone had "activated" the GPRS facility on my mobile account I went into:
    Preferences
    tapped on the menu word in the top right and selected Network
    Then chose Vodafone GPRS in the Service field

I had to Unlock and Modify
    Connection = GPRS
    Username = web (no change)