1.    #1  
    Ok, I'm a newbie with a used Treo for Verizon. So, to make sure that I do everything right the first time.

Can some of you experts give me some advice on how to get it activated with Verizon?

Do I need to download any firmware updates, first?

Should I sync with my old Palm data?

Give me your advice on getting this Treo up and running with Verizon. BTW, I already have service with verizon and have web access with my current phone.

THANKS for your Help!
    Last edited by Medic005; 02/14/2005 at 09:00 PM.
    If this is a Verizon branded Treo 600 then initial setup should be a piece of cake. You should first do a system reset on the unit. I believe this is done by holding the center rocker up while simultaneously using your stylus to push the reset button on the back of the unit. (Someone please correct me if I'm wrong).

Next, give a call to Verizon from your landline and tell them you want to do an ESN (Electronic Serial Number) change. They will ask you for the ESN of the Treo. At this point they'll activate your Treo OTA (Over The Air). You're ready to go!

You say you have web access, but is that through Verizon's data plan? Or, are you just using your minutes to use the web? If you intend to use the data connection quite a bit I would strongly suggest getting the data plan. Verizon does not require that you get it - although some CSR's may say otherwise.

You don't need to download any firmware updates first.

Once you are up and running with Verizon you can sync with your old Palm data. Just make sure you have the lastest version of Palm desktop software.

Good luck!
  3.    #3  
    illustreous:

Thanks for the info. I don't currently have the data service, just the web access using my voice minutes. I'm going to see how much I use the web before I upgrade to a plan with data service, plus my plans are up for renewal in July, so I'd perfer to wait till then to see what deals they offer me to stay on with Verizon.