Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    91 Global Posts
    I am new to SprintPCS (2 days and counting...) and was wondering if I should opt for the $5 "America" roaming option. I am located in Los Angeles (Santa Monica) and drive to San Francisco on occasion via I-5. When I travel, I am generally in major metropolitan areas, like Washington DC Metro and NYC Metro.

I was wondering how often one would actually roam onto another network in the types of areas I am in, especially in LA and SF. I don't think I've roamed just yet that I can tell.

Also, if I add the "America" roaming option, does that mean I can roam onto Verizon 800MHz CDMA networks? Would that increase my coverage area substantially, or am I generally covered by SprintPCS in the areas that Verizon offers 800MHz CDMA? Do I get voicemail notification while roaming? I know I don't have access to Vision.

TIA.
    If you are in major metropolitan areas, you won't have a problem with roaming. The only places I've roamed have Spanish Bay near Monterey and the California mountains near Ridgecrest. Big cities? No problems.
    I dropped my Sprint Roaming feature after about 5 months. I used it rarely. I'm in Santa Monica also. I don't travel much. I found that where I don't get sprint, I very rarely got a roaming signal. You should try it and drop it if you don't end up using it.
    The only place I routinely roam in the DC area is on the subway, which has only Verizon service. HTH,
    Bob Meyer
    I'm out of my mind. But feel free to leave a message.
    Global Posts
    91 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by meyerweb
    The only place I routinely roam in the DC area is on the subway, which has only Verizon service. HTH,