1.    #1  
    I'm a noob to WebOS and wanna say thanks to community forums like these. It's great to have a place to go to online and read up on such things. I recently have been interested in "upgrading" to a Palm Pre Plus ever since Verizon made mobile hotspot free for it. I now have the phone, but now waiting for data capping plans to take effect before activating it with Verizon

I'm actually waiting for Verizon's data capping plans to take effect because I currently have an EnV Touch with a required data plan that I hardly use. I'm upset I have to pay $10/month for 25MB/month data now. If I activate the Pre Plus now $30/month is just too high for me (even for unlimited data). I'm hoping Verizon will mirror AT&T's $14.95/month for 200MB/month data plan (175MB more data/month for just $5 more than what I'm paying now LoL). I'm around WiFi areas all day and will have data streaming turned off but I like the idea of a Pre Plus being a mobile hotspot when needed.

While I wait for Verizon's data capping plans to take effect I wanna play around with my Pre Plus NOW! =-P. I've quickly read up on bypassing activation (mostly via this forum) and think I understand what I must do but now have a few questions before I do something I may regret:

1. I currently cannot get passed creating a Palm Profile. From what I've read this is a First Use app that can be bypassed and later completed via WiFi with Meta Doctor. After using Meta Doctor and completing the First use app, would I be able to fully activate the phone with Verizon later?

2. I'd still have access to App Catalog and future WebOS updates after using Meta Doctor, correct?
    I would like to know the answer to this as well. I was given a Pre and would like to use it but can't afford the monthly data plan charge. After using Meta Doctor, can I activate my voice and text service without the data?