webOS Nation Forums >  Carrier Discussion >  North American Carriers (CDMA) > Can i switch my phone line in between 2 different phones?
Can i switch my phone line in between 2 different phones?

Old 09/05/2009, 03:59 AM   #1 (permalink)

Im new with Sprint. Therefore i was wondering.....

Say i have the Pre and the HTC Hero, can i just swap my phone line to either phone on my own? at anytime i wish? or i need to deal with Sprint to do this?

or i can cough out another 10bucks to tag the second phone onto the first one as family plan, but i will have a different phone number.....hmmmm!!!

thx.
SD

Last edited by SundayDuffer; 09/05/2009 at 04:16 AM.
SundayDuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/05/2009, 04:24 AM   #2 (permalink)

I've been a sprint customer for a number of years, and to the best of my knowledge, you have to call sprint to do that. They used to have a few phones with swappable sim cards, but not these days.

Without a swappable sim card, you're SOL
VeeDubb65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/05/2009, 04:32 AM   #3 (permalink)

Actually, you can swap phones on the website for free after the initial activation of the second phone. It's not an instant swap, so I wouldn't want to switch every hour or anything, but it works great if you're swapping for the weekend or something.
jhoff80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/05/2009, 04:41 AM   #4 (permalink)

Kind of comes out in the wash I think. Call them, do it on the website. About the same at the end of the day.
VeeDubb65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/05/2009, 06:31 AM   #5 (permalink)

When the Web swap works it takes about 2 min. to do and then the phone is ready to go within another 1-5 min.

Sometimes the Web swap will kick you out to a chat session which can take 10-20 min. do to the crazy slow response from the agents. "Please wait for 5 min. Mr Smith while I type another word"