1.    #1  
    how does everyone go about switching phones with sprint? I am new to sprint from GSM Cingular where I would just swap out my SIM and go (ONLY thing I miss about Cingular). When activating a new phone do you have to take it into sprint (this is what i am fearing...)? Do they charge (I hope they would not)? Basically I would like to have two differnet phones but if it is a big pain to get the active phone switched often it is a no go. Someone please say oh you just dial this # and enter the ESN and bam! you are good.....
    "Bound to cover just a little more ground"
    Global Posts
    678 Global Posts
    Sprint can do it over the phone but they usually want to charge $18. I guess they would do it as often as you like as long as you pay. It can take from a minute to a coupel hours for the switch to take effect in my experience.
    Mike G

Touch (Sprint)
    You have to call in or visit a store. There is no charge if the phone has previously been activated. They say it can take up to 4 hours for the phone to fully provision, but I've always been able to use it seconds after I hung up with the rep.
    however, each time you do it, it resets your rebate status clock.
    Yes, that is true. However, if you have gotten an upgrade from Sprint after September, 2006, that's not an issue. You can also just make sure the rep indicates somewhere that the rebate clock should not be reset, since you didn't receive a rebate.
    not talking about receiving a rebate - I am talking about the one year $75 or two year $150 upgrade rebates. Those time frames get reset when you do a ESN swap.
    Um...that's what I was talking about, also. It basically works like this: