1.    #1  
    Hello

I'm new to Web OS, in fact I still don't have it as I only just, yesterday, bought an LG OLED. It will be delivered next Saturday and of course I'm excited to set it up and try it out. In preparation for the big day I thought I'd find out as much as I could about the TV and Web OS 3.5. I did watch some videos on Youtube but none really helped with my specific questions, so I thought I'd ask here.

1) We have Verizon FIOS as a cable provider and whilst its good the cable TV service OS has the worst UI known to man. Its so bad that using it makes me want to vomit! Given that, is there a way to setup Web OS so it "hides" the cable OS? The videos I have seen suggest this might be possible.

2) The Web OS UI looks wonderful. It looks logical with regard to organization, fluid and easy to use. I intend to use a lot of its apps, Netflix, Amazon Video, etc, so is it possible to turn on the TV, without cable, and get just the Web OS interface?

I'm not sure I have put those questions in the best way possible but hopefully someone understands me.

Thanks,
    Keith
    Hello Keith,
    I'm on FiOS too, but I haven't used their set-top boxes much since pretty much day one. I use either a TiVo with a CableCard or a different device that lets me stream my cable to other devices, but I'll try to take a crack at your questions.

The LG webOS TV interface (at least on my 2014-ish TV) allows you to set up your inputs and tell the TV who your cable provider is. Part of that will set up that input in "Device Connector" to allow the TV to control your set-top box. It will also allow the TV to fetch program guide data from a third-party source and let you navigate what's on TV from the TV, but with the TV squirting channel change commands to the set-top box.