webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  HP Veer > LuneOS on Veer?
LuneOS on Veer?
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By TJs11thPre
  • 1 Post By chalx
  • 1 Post By 60RH

Old 09/08/2014, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

I expect this isn't going to happen, but I am fairly new to webOS and thought I'd ask...
jblakeharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/09/2014, 02:26 AM   #2 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblakeharris View Post
I expect this isn't going to happen, but I am fairly new to webOS and thought I'd ask...
We don't have a set of open source drivers for the hardware of the phones, so Even if someone wanted to build it, he couldn't then distribute it. So no I don't expect we will have luneos on an old webos phone, but newer hardware is a better target anyway.
creepingmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/09/2014, 03:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Homebrew Developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by creepingmee View Post
We don't have a set of open source drivers for the hardware of the phones, so Even if someone wanted to build it, he couldn't then distribute it. So no I don't expect we will have luneos on an old webos phone, but newer hardware is a better target anyway.
I'm sure a very talented an very experienced Android kernel developer could get it working (or CyanogenMod porter) could get Android working on it which could be a base for LuneOS.

But the 512MB RAM and the 800Mhz CPU isn't likely be able to pull it off. The Touchpad with dualcore 1,2Ghz runs it fairly OK, but I doubt anything slower would do to be honest.

How much I personally would like it, it's unlikely to happen.

I'd prefer my next phone to be one with QWERTY keyboard as well... If only those nice BB10 devices had an unlocked bootloader
Old 09/09/2014, 01:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
pivotCE Developer

Does LuneOS / Open webOS have the ability to interact with a hardware keyboard? I assume webOS keyboards conform to some kind of standard protocol. Just thinking of possibilities...