webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  HP TouchPad > Am I too late???
Am I too late???

Old 11/21/2014, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)

Hi all,
I'm a newbie in every sense of the word here, both to the Web-OS and to the forum. I just on an impulse got a 4G Touchpad as I was looking for a cheap android tablet to play with, when the kids grab the IPad from me.
I have just been to HP site and they are pulling all the stops from Touchpad, come January 15.
Am I too late with this or can I still get some use from it? I have used the date walk-around to get to the App Catalog; but I get the error of failed install on ALL apps. Is it linked to my location (UK) even though all settings are US? I would like to try out some free apps especially a Bible and the Kindle as I've got a large kindle library on the IPad. But that doesn't seem to work either. Is there anything I can do to get Kindle app to work?
The 4G works well here in the UK so even for a browser its pretty fast, but is that all I can do with it?
I'm not much of a tinkerer, mostly for lack of time but is flashing to android the only hope? I kinda like to leave that as late as possible, if I can?
Any help and advice?

Thanks!
Abram001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/21/2014, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Homebrew Developer

Hi you can only get free apps from the app catalog post 1 November, but you need to update the App Catalog Certificate that expired. You can find info here on the forum. Other than that your device should work OK. For most stuff that's broken (Google contacts & calendar) you can find fixes here. You can also dual or tripple boot it with Android or LuneOS (the open source continuation of webOS) for example.

-- Sent from my TouchPad Go using Communities
Old 11/21/2014, 02:13 PM   #3 (permalink)