webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  HP TouchPad > Hello, and Question
Hello, and Question

Old 12/25/2012, 11:58 PM   #1 (permalink)

Merry Christmas Everybody !!!

My name is Gary. This is my first post, so I apologize if this has already been discussed a lot.

I've owned/enjoyed a TouchPad since Sept. 2011. I use it just for basic web surfing. Since my wife has been hinting about getting a tablet for herself lately, I bought her another new TouchPad on EBay last week and gave it to her today for Christmas. She then asked me about using it to read ebooks. Well, uh..... I've never done that before. So I started searching around. Long story short, I'm wondering if I made the wrong decision by buying a TouchPad versus a Kindle Fire or some other more recent Android OS. So we have kept her new TouchPad in the sealed factory box until we decide what we should do with it.

A friend told me there may be a Kindle App for her TouchPad that she can use to access ebooks from our local library (via "OverDrive" service). Is this true? If so, while checking the "Software" tab of "Device Information" screen on my own personal TouchPad, it shows I already have "Amazon Kindle v0.9.0" as a built-in application. Assuming her TouchPad also has this loaded, is this all she needs to access library ebook offerings, or must we install some other Kindle app? Also, given the discontinued status of WebOS, should we re-sell her TouchPad and buy something else that's better for that type of use? She'll mainly use her tablet for surfing, e-reading and occassional Skype.

Thank you in advance for any advice and info you can provide!
Gary
GaryWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12/26/2012, 01:24 PM   #2 (permalink)