webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  HP TouchPad > Touchpad- CPU Overclocking and WebOS 3.0.5
Touchpad- CPU Overclocking and WebOS 3.0.5

Old 11/28/2012, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)

Hello WebOS experts,

I'm new to the HP Touchpad. My initial TP impressions are that WebOS has a nice multitasking capability, is reasonably intuitive and has a simple to use GUI.

I have a few questions... and would appreciate people's expert advice.

My 32GB TP came with WebOS 3.0.5. installed. What would be necessary to add an overclocking capability running at 1.5 or 1.7 MHz (preferred) to this system? Is the Preware Uberkernel support WebOS 3.0.5? If not.. is it fairly straight-forward to restore my TP to an earlier webOS version (i.e., 3.0.4)?

If I decide to attempt to dual-root CM9/Android ICS (mostly to get NetFlix, Google Maps, Nook library and other apps) and WebOS and run into installation and/or operational problems what would I need to do to restore my TP to WebOS 3.0.x factory default settings?

Thanks

Last edited by Howard Glassman; 11/28/2012 at 08:39 PM.
Howard Glassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/28/2012, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
pivotCE Developer

Preware and Uberkernel will work with 3.0.5. no worries. Plenty of overclock/underclock options there all the way up to 1.828 GHz.

If you want to downgrade the OS look here: WebOS Doctor Versions - WebOS Internals

...but I'm not sure you will want to downgrade.

There are a lot of threads around about creating dual boot and others on restoration. CM mods are not my thing so I'm sure someone else is needed to point the way there.

Welcome.
RumoredNow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/29/2012, 01:23 AM   #3 (permalink)

I use F4 Phantom kernel in webOS and 'Antutu CPU Master' in CM9/10.
Both seem to suit the TP hardware well.

l)
Mutoidi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/29/2012, 07:42 AM   #4 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mutoidi View Post