Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    Hey everyone. I've been considering buying one of the relatively cheap ($130-150) Touchpads that pop up on my local craigslist from time to time. I know the likely hood of any further support of the device or even the OS is unlikely but I was wondering what everyone thought of the device as just a internet consumption tool?

I'm a iOS guy. I have a iPhone and Mac. I'm a developer and web designer also but I do all my work on my Mac. I'm just looking for something I can check email on while on the go easily and check out my favorite news sites, etc. I really don't want to pay $400 for a iPad just so I can check my email. I used a Pre for a few months and fell in love with the webOS.
    You'll quickly discover that the webOS 3 email client kicks the holy crud out of all the other mobile platforms at this time, and that at this time, the web browser is probably mostly acceptable. You might even discover some nice apps for things, too (Communities is indispensible for me, and I can't wait for the next version of it). And, of course, as a web developer, you can always write your own apps to do things If you stick around long enough for Open webOS, hopefully it'll be quite an upgrade as well
    Author:
    Remove Messaging Beeps patch for webOS 3.0.5, Left/Right bezel gestures in LunaCE,
    Whazaa! Messenger and node-wa, SynerGV 1 and 2 - Google Voice integration, XO - Subsonic Commander media streamer, AB:S Launcher
    (1:39:33 PM) halfhalo: Android multitasking is like sticking your fingers into a blender
    GO OPEN WEBOS!
    People asked me for a donate link for my non-catalog work, so here you are:
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry201 View Post
    The web browser is a bit bad with no support for tabs
    There are tabs. It's called cards. It does get a bit annoying going back to the home screen and picking a new card, but it's still the same functionality.