Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By GMMan
  1.    #1  
    Hello everyone. Im new in this WebOS community. I say its awesome and sad HP kill it. WebOS is coming now as open source (yay) and, I certain someone has come up with the same thinkin as me, Is it Safe? How safe was WebOS at the beginning? And Now? Coming from the Android "way of life", all apps will let you know what is lurking behind and what access or rights you permit once you install and application. I dont see that on WebOS and it starting to creep me out, just a little. Maybe Im used to see this. Also I noted that there are no antivirus apps for WebOS. Hmmm, maybe is a good sign, but still crossed my mind, it is safe? How bout the apps from third parties? How can you tell if there are no behind the scenes apps running and gathering confidential info? Guess I am a little paranoid, but as i said before, all this just crossed my mind.

Please need assurance this is a safe OS. Or at least make me think it is safe. Im very comfortable and happy using WebOS.
    Global Posts
    690 Global Posts
    lol.. We do not at all have the security holes that android has. It's completely safe. And you can easily see what an app is accessing. We're safe and to even compar us to android and thinking about these problems is overboard.

-- Sent from my Palm Pre using Forums
    Some answers, in no particular order:

1. Run of the mill attacks for Windows systems won't work, though there is a possibility that Flash and PDF attacks may mess something up.
    2. WebOS had its share of security problems in the early days, though I'm not quite sure about now. If you enable Developer Mode or set up SSHD, you open a hole, though if you mess with the innards of webOS enough, it becomes a tradeoff between convenience and security.
    3. It seems the most that the App Catalog will tell you is an app wants to use location services before you buy it.