Like Tree6Likes
  • 6 Post By cobrakon
  1.    #1  
    Some background: I work as a Senior Systems Analyst at a worldwide fortune 500 company that is 2nd in our industry. I support 2400+ users and 830+ servers running Windows 2k3. In addition I support several out of box apps and several custom built apps.

I regularly use a Latitude D630 running XP and have all the usual tools at the ready. LANDesk Management Console, Term Services Manager, Office 2k7, SQL manager 2k5, etc.

So on Monday, due to many activities on the weekend, I forgot to put my laptop back in the trunk. I realized this after arriving at work. We currently do not have any spare machines so I couldn't commandeer one. I *did* have the TouchPad...

My Day...

-Followed up on emails in the early morning, moving between my standard folders with no issues in the touchpad app.

-Got a calendar notification for a 9:30 meeting. Checked the invitees and emailed a document (previously saved from another email) needed for the meeting to them.

-Had an support issue with one of the servers. RDP'd into the box and resolved the issue (database load issue).

-Sent a few more emails and worked on some SharePoint admin issues.

-Lunch. Used the USA Today app to bring up some articles to chat about.

-Finishing lunch, was reminded about a discussion needed on a business reporting app. Created a meeting for Tuesday and invite the required members.

-Notification to another meeting. This time I logged into our vendors online ticket system to review and discuss some of the user issues being reported. Printed a few copies for the attendees.

-Had a few more system issues reported and used the Remote desktop app flawlessly again to jump and and resolve the issues.

-Connected to one of our App servers and pushed down a software deployment to a lab that we are testing on. Again, flawless RDP performance.

-Updated a few documents, sent some more emails and I was done for the day.