Global Posts
    53 Global Posts
    This has nothing to do with a telephone. It is about trying to set up my TouchPad to connect to the Internet via a bluetooth connection to a notebook machine which is connected to a wired network.

Here's the problem: the local college whence my company rents space has a wireless network to which we do not have access. They have additionally prohibited the installation of wireless routers. We do have a wired network onto which I place my notebook machine, which has bluetooth. Using bluetooth I'd like to be able to gain access to the Web via the notebook machine.

I have never done anything remotely like this before. I have the two machines recognizing each other via bluetooth, but there is where I've stopped.

I've seen reference to this, leading me to conclude it can be done, but I do not know how to bring it about.

Anyone know a good recipe or the location thereof?

Again, I'm not trying to tether to a telephone but to a laptop machine.

Thanks!
    Global Posts
    655 Global Posts
    not sure its accessed via bluetooth but would something like this work for you? Connectify Your Hotspot, Your Way
    Quote Originally Posted by ccx View Post
    not sure its accessed via bluetooth but would something like this work for you? Connectify Your Hotspot, Your Way
    That link appears to show a method where the computer is turned into a wireless router, which according to the OP, is against the rules.

If you run the 'ifconfig' command in novaterm or xterm, it shows just the devices 'eth0' (wireless ethernet interface) and the loopback interface. So there would need to be some sort of TCP/IP over Bluetooth implementation added to the Touchpad, so the bluetooth interface can also be used as a network interface. There is the Linux BlueZ package which has BNEP (Bluetooth Networking Encapsulation Protocol), but I'm not sure what the chances are of adding this to the Touchpad.
    BlueZ About