Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By traycer
  1.    #1  
    Hello, all! Brand new 32GB TouchPad owner here... just received mine from the fire sale this past Monday. I'm still not sure why I even need a tablet, but I couldn't pass up this deal.

I'm a professional photographer, so one of the things I would like to do is use the TP as a portfolio. I loaded up the photos from my latest shoot as a test, and immediately noticed several things I didn't like about the standard photo viewer. Most of those issues have been discussed elsewhere (no sorting options, no labels, no slideshow settings, etc.) but I haven't been able to dig up any mention of this one problem I'm seeing.

I resize my images to 1024 pixels on the long side to match the TP's display. I load them up into the gallery, and I can view them. However, I notice that horizontal images look nice and crisp, the way I expect them too. However, vertical images are slightly blurry. You may not notice if you don't have a sharp, well-focused photo to begin with, but it is definitely happening. I tried copying over larger images, but to no avail. Horizontal images always look great, and vertical images are fuzzy. I should try a square image to see what happens.

Oh, I should mention that I am rotating the display depending on the orientation of the photo, as to maximize the viewing size. Thus a 1024-pixel tall image is shown 1024 pixels tall on the TP. There should be no resizing going on.

Anyone else see this?
  2.    #2  
    Here's an example. I used the checkered background of X Windows to demonstrate that the gallery app is definitely messing around with something. The first is a screen capture of the X server itself (launched via Xecutah):

The second is a screen capture of the above image as displayed by the photo gallery app: