Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    When I am using my laptop at a public WiFi hotspot, I have been able to use a free public VPN service, as a form of protection from sidejacking through exploits such as FireSheep.

Currently I use a product called Hotspot Shield from a company called AnchorFree, which installed easily on my Win 7 laptop. I do not think that I have run into any speed or data caps with them, probably because my load is quite moderate and intermittent. I also used free or low-cost XeroBank when I was in Europe.

So, now that I have a pair of new HP Touchpad 32GB tablets, and I am just starting to learn about all the great webOS resources, I realize that I am far more likely to use this tablet at an airport, hotel, or cafe public hotspot. I don't want any website or email pswd being broadcast!
    Can anyone here recommend a good free public VPN for this purpose? I see that the Touchpad does have some VPN software, of course I will need to learn how to use that.
    Thank you!
    Easiest way that i can think of is to set up a vpn at your house and then vpn to that whenever you are at a public wifi.
    Yup, that's what I do - I have a VPN server somewhere on the internet that I VPN to.
    Global Posts
    6 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by acz View Post
    When I am using my laptop at a public WiFi hotspot, I have been able to use a free public VPN service, as a form of protection from sidejacking through exploits such as FireSheep.

Currently I use a product called Hotspot Shield from a company called AnchorFree, which installed easily on my Win 7 laptop. I do not think that I have run into any speed or data caps with them, probably because my load is quite moderate and intermittent. I also used free or low-cost XeroBank when I was in Europe.