1.    #1  
    I am sorry if this has been answered before, but how can I use my optimus S (on SERO plan) to get wi-fi on the touchpad? Not looking to use the touchpad as a phone, but just to get internet access on the go.
    I have free tether on my touchpad. I assume (newbie here) that my optimus will have to be rooted, but how to do it? If someone can provide step by step instructions, it would be appreciated.
    I got it to work this weekend on my Optimus V.
    Add the quick settings app and then use it to turn on the wifi hotsopt.
    Make sure the "hotspot" you're trying to enable is NOT ad-hoc... it won't work with the TP.
    I think you're in the wrong forum; you should try an android forum.

Basically, this is how it works:

1) You would need for your Optimus S to act as the wifi hotspot. This means that you would need an app (like FreeTether) on the phone, NOT on the tablet.

2) Once you get the Optimus S to act as a wifi hotspot, you just click in the wifi icon in the top-right corner of the TouchPad, and select that wifi hotspot created by your phone.
    Quote Originally Posted by Misterre View Post
    I got it to work this weekend on my Optimus V.
    Add the quick settings app and then use it to turn on the wifi hotsopt.
    This will work if you have not updated your phone in a while. The latest update that they have been trying to force on me for about 3 months now broke this loophole.

So if you updated your phone you will need to root I think. The legit tethers I don't believe use the right method to work with Touchpad.
  6.    #6  
    Quote Originally Posted by Cheeko318 View Post
    This will work if you have not updated your phone in a while. The latest update that they have been trying to force on me for about 3 months now broke this loophole.

So if you updated your phone you will need to root I think. The legit tethers I don't believe use the right method to work with Touchpad.