1.    #1  
    Just a theory... Is it possible to get WINE to run on ubuntu that we have recently been able to get running on the TP? Would be pretty sweet to be able to run .exe on our touchpads. I am not to familiar with the reqs for it though.
    Why not? Wine is in the repositories so just install it and there ya go.
    Sprint Love
    I'm not an expert, but I doubt it would work because WINE doesn't emulator CPU architectures.

E.g. WINE will work when running ubuntu on an intel desktop processor - running an EXE meant for x86 on ARM probably won't work.
    Developer of Ultimate Hockey, netSpeed, BatteryMonitor, The Ghastly Headset,
    netSpeed HD, St4rs and Matrix Exhibition
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Follow my webOS projects on my blog and follow me on twitter
    Global Posts
    465 Global Posts
    Yeah, I don't think it will emulate x86 hardware so it shouldn't work.
    Yep, wine can technically be compiled and set up on a touchpad, but it won't run windows native programs unless they have been specifically ported for arm. So, essentially useless .

If you're really jonesing to run x86 programs, your best bet is probably the dosbox project and waiting on someone to get that up and running properly on our touchpads. That could potentially bring us all sorts of dos applications, and eventually it could lead to windows 98 or even xp.
    Quote Originally Posted by ncinerate View Post
    If you're really jonesing to run x86 programs, your best bet is probably the dosbox project and waiting on someone to get that up and running properly on our touchpads. That could potentially bring us all sorts of dos applications, and eventually it could lead to windows 98 or even xp.
    Win 98 is probable since it runs on top of DOS but I don't think any of the NT based os's are going to work. I am pretty sure I saw a screenshot of win 3.1 running on a TP. Not that 3.1 would help much.
    Global Posts